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 RUNNING HOOPS 
June 2014 

The Newsletter of  Kenilworth Croquet Club              

Situations Vacant 
 

Italian speakers required for 6th July.  
Italian visitors of the twinning association are having a croquet evening at the club.  Anyone 
able to help with translation would be very welcome. 
If you can help, please speak to Mervyn; Grazie.  
 
Wanted; Webmaster to develop a site for our club.  Speak to Jean. 

An ingenious contraption like this has got 
to have a name!  
Suggestions to the Editor. 

AC Doubles Tournament - Report by Adrian Morris 

 

The first club event of the year was a new initiative, an AC Doubles Tournament. This was 
designed to give experience to higher handicapped players and to introduce Advanced 
Association rules. 
 

Teams were decided based on handicaps so that teams could be as equal as possible in 
terms of total handicap.  
 

Three 18pt games timed to two hours were played, double banked on Lawn 2 which added 
to the camaraderie on the lawns, as this was meant to be an informal friendly tournament 
and so it turned out to be. 
 

Adrian & Pauline and Peter & Frank won their first two games to make a competitive final to 
finish the day. Adrian & Pauline were ahead until the closing stages but were overtaken with 
a late flourish by the experienced Peter & Frank who won by ten hoops to seven.  
 

In the play-off for third place, Philip & Ray beat Nigel and Alan nine hoops to six.  
 

An enjoyable and informative day interrupted by heavy rain at lunch time when the new 
pavilion was a much appreciated haven.  
 

The event was considered an enjoyable event and it is planned to repeat the event later in 
the season. 

Straight lines  - Ray Clipston 
  
We have never had really straight lines along 
the edges of our lawns ever since I took over 
from the wonderful Bill Browne. 
But this season might be a bit better with the 
design and construction of a modification to 
the white line machine by me and John 
Copping. 
  
Our theory is that rather than trying to keep 
the wheel on the string or the existing white 
line it is better to have an arm out in front.  
Then if  I wobble 1/2” with this marker the 
wheel with the white paint only moves a 
fraction. It does seem to work ! 
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Nigel in winning form 

Post match tea and chat 

First Friendly — report by Frank Hibberd and Nick Hegan 
 
The first friendly of the season took place on Saturday May 3rd, on the attractive courts of 
Northampton croquet club.  The well-kept grass, the surrounding trees, the sun and the 
company made it a very pleasant place to be. 
Turning to the serious business, in the AC Peter lost to a remarkably accurate in-form Peter 
Stansfield.  Pauline lost to a multiple-bisqued Mel Christie.  Frank lost to the ever-reliable 
Owen Bryce.  But Nigel had a good win over Les Carrick.  
In the afternoon Nigel used his bisques well to beat Peter, and Frank narrowly beat Jill 
Carrick.  Pauline lost her 100 per cent record against Owen (played 1, won 1), while Peter 
couldn’t make headway against the 17 bisques he had to give to Mel. 
Result: Northampton 5, Kenilworth 3. 
 
 A familiar format of Singles in the morning and Doubles in the afternoon allowed a full day 
of enjoyable Golf Croquet on the immaculate if a little inclined lawns of St Andrews Hospital.  
Northampton fielded a full team of ladies in the morning that turned out to be formidable in 
ability holding Kenilworth to a draw in the first and second rounds with Kenilworth just 
edging a win in the last round of the morning.  
 
After lunch in the sunshine it was all to play for in the Doubles.  Some strategic swapping of 
team members on the Northampton side left Kenilworth playing a slightly different line up. 
The play hotted up along with the weather and Kenilworth struggled at times to keep the 
form they had managed in the morning. However the team dug deep and with true 
Kenilworth doggedness managed to keep the score line away from disaster territory. 
 
With the croquet over for the day, tea and cake was served, again in glorious sunshine.  
End of day results for the GC team against Northampton players Daphne, Jill, Diane, 
Marilyn and Les were: 
Kenilworth 9, Northampton 8 with 1 draw 
The event was well organised by Owen, and the hospitality, as ever, was excellent.  
Whatever the results, the day was enjoyed by all. 
AC: Peter and Pauline Dennis, Nigel Haslam, Frank Hibberd 
GC: Nick Hegan, Peter Kristunas, Tim Leggatt, William Pink 
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Views of an average GC player  -  An opinion of an Average Player 
 

The general consensus of the ladies who played for the Ladies (GC) Trophy last September 
is that they need coaching on when to use extra turns.  I’m sure that can be arranged, but it 
has prompted me to jot down some points which may (or not) help.  
 
 
1. Every time it is our turn to play, whether level or handicap, we have to decide what sort 

of shot to play, and we gradually learn from experience to make different decisions 
depending on whether our balls are better placed than our opponent’s, or vice versa.  
The same is true of deciding when to use extra turns, but the problem is that we tend 
only to get that experience when playing in one of the GC handicap tournaments.  So, 
take every opportunity to play to handicap rules, whenever you are playing someone 
better than you, including at doubles.  

 
 
2. It is rather stating the obvious, but if you receive extra turns, it is because your opponent 

is better than you.  If you use one solely to stop them from running a hoop, there is the 
danger that they will counter with a good shot back to the hoop, and you are still no 
nearer to winning the hoop!  So, maybe it is better to wait until you can use it to get into 
a position where you can run a hoop that you would not otherwise have been able to 
run. 

 
 
3. That brings me to what, for me, is a key point.  You need to have a realistic view of your 

own ability.  For example, assuming you are playing a much better player and you hit 
your blue to 6 feet from the first hoop and at a 30 degree angle.  If you feel that you can 
run the hoop on your second turn, you may be prepared to take the chance that you 
won’t be knocked away.  However, if not, why not use an extra turn to get the ball near 
the hoop – ideally into the jaws, as the first shot to a hoop may be your best opportunity 
to virtually guarantee a hoop?  Also, note that getting your ball into the jaws on hoops 1, 
3, 7 and 9 gives you the extra prospect of being able to run this hoop and get near to the 
next one. 

 
 
4. Finally, to every argument there is an opposite argument.  Some experienced members 

like to keep at least one extra turn up their sleeve, as this can make your opponent 
depart from his or her natural game – which may work to your advantage.  For example, 
they may be more inclined to take a defensive position, to counter the type of play 
referred to in 3 – in which case it may well not be sensible to use an extra turn on this 
occasion.  

 
So, there are arguments for being prepared to use your extra turns early, and also for 
keeping at least one up your sleeve.  There are few hard and fast rules, but if this has 
focussed your mind on some of the issues, it has done its job.   

Did you Know……….. 
 
Croquet was a one-off Olympic sport in 1900 – although it was so poorly organised that one 
competitor went to his death without ever having known he was an Olympian. Sadly for 
croquet fans, there are not enough countries who play the game for it to be accepted as an 
Olympic sport. 
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Marj –gives simple answers to GC questions  

Dear Marj 
 
Last week, my partner played his ball, was looking where IT was going rather than where 
HE was going, and kicked another ball.  I knew there would be a penalty, but he told me 
that I would miss MY next turn.  That can’t be right can it, as it was he who committed the 
foul? 
 
Norma Sears 
 
Dear Norma 
I’m afraid he’s right.  For the most part, the rules talk about “sides” rather than individual 

players, and if a “side” commits a foul like this, that “side” loses its next turn.  Too bad that 

it meant that you lost out on this occasion. 

Michael Langman  1935—2014 
 
Michael died on 8 April after the prostate cancer which he had had for twelve years spread 
elsewhere in his body. He had been a very useful hockey, squash and cricket player and 
was a long-standing member of the MCC. He started croquet when his knees forced him to 
give up tennis. Unfortunately he never got a chance to get going as his ability to walk was 
impaired fairly soon after that.  
He was born in Kent in 1935 and educated at St Paul's School. After qualifying as a doctor 
at Guys Hospital he worked at various London hospitals. He was appointed Boots Professor 
of Therapeutics at a new medical school at Nottingham University. He later became 
professor of medicine at Birmingham University and also Dean at some point. At the same 
time he acted as a consultant in gastroenterology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. 
In that capacity he was involved in many drug trials. He was chairman of the Warwickshire 
Ambulance Trust.  
Michael was a keen gardener and devoted family man, and is survived by his wife Rosie, 
two sons, two daughters and nine grandchildren. A service of thanksgiving will be held at 
Claverdon church at 2 PM on Thursday 26 June. 

Dear Marj 
 
Just when I thought I understood the more common “wrong ball” rules – I hear that they’ve 
gone and changed them!  Could you please explain the change – and please “keep it 
simple”. 
Willy Jumpit 
 
PS  I feel somehow drawn to the jump shot, but have no idea how to do one.  Any advice 
you can give would be most appreciated. 
 
Dear Willy  
OK.  The change you are most likely to come across occurs in doubles play.  It used to be 
that if your partner played his ball when it was your turn to play yours, it would be a foul and 
incur a penalty.  However, now it’s exactly like in singles, where the balls (including any this 
ball has hit) are replaced and you then play yours – without penalty.  I welcome the change 
(a) because the rule is now the same for singles and doubles, and (b) because  it’s so easy 
to see yellow go through the hoop and then play your blue, without noticing that red pushed 
yellow through, and so black should go next.  So, whilst any rule change can be frustrating, 
this one may well simplify things in the future. 
As to jump-shots – watch other players do the “between the legs” or “beside the feet” or 

even “facing backwards” shots, and decide which one is for you.  They won’t mind being 

asked to demonstrate their particular method as it gives them pleasure too.  But – 

CRUCIALLY – practice them off the lawn, maybe even on short grass beside the practice 

lawn, as you may well make divots before you gain some proficiency! 
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Please continue to send me lots of exciting articles, photographs,  opinions and 
comments on anything remotely related to croquet and our club.   

I can be contacted on 01926 855376 or hendygj@yahoo.co.uk. 
Gordon Henderson. Editor. 

Dear Marj 
 
My parrot sits on my shoulder when I play.  Yesterday, I hit a shot with such violence that 
he fell off and landed on another ball.  None of us (including the parrot) were too sure 
whether or not that was a fault. 
 
John Silver 
 
Dear John 
Wow – interesting question and one where I don’t think you’ll find the answer in the rule 

book.  However, my own reasoning is that if your hat had fallen off onto a ball, it would be a 

fault, and I can’t really see too much difference – especially if there were feathers in your 

hat!  So, as you were playing your shot, your turn has ended and you would not score any 

hoop that your ball went through.  Your opponent(s) would have the choice of leaving the 

balls where they ended up or replacing them all where they were before you played your 

shot.   

Golf Croquet on a sunny afternoon 
  
Our round of the Centre Stage Golf Croquet Tournament was played on a lovely Sunday on 
the 1st of June. 
  
Initially with eight players but actually down to seven because Jean Wilson had a bad 
shoulder it was played as two blocks. Ray Clipson easily won his block with a combination 
of a some good shots and some lucky ones.  In the other William Pink  played steadily to 
win both his matches. So the final was set up between them and William won convincingly 
by 7 hoops to 2. In the playoff for third place Tim Leggatt narrowly beat Claire Heathcock. 
William can go forward to the regional final. 
  
A very pleasant afternoon was had by all and more members should enjoy it next year.  


